Backpack as a complete organizing tool

Right now I have a clumsy, hardly portable folder and Outlook based organizing system I’m eager to dump.

I need the folders to get different forms of data (images, pdfs, docs, links and stuff) together by category. One thing is that this way one file can be assigned to one category otherwise I have to make a copy. Longhorn will solve this with virtual folders, but I have a feeling they are late.

Outlook is for having my messages offline and managing my time. And the only way to sync these with phone.

But it seems like the saviour has come half way for me.

37signals’ Backpack offers tagging, and looking forward for integration with Flickr and del.icio.us. So my links, images, textual data and time management could be in one place, organized by tags.

Why half way?

Two things are missing.

For one I still can’t put my pdfs, docs, videos in a tagged system. Although Backpack offers 80 to 500MB space for files, it’s not enough for me (my organized stuff is at 3 gigs right now).
So I hope a cheap webstorage service with tags is yet to come. And while waiting an offline solution would do (like a non-public delicious for my harddrive which blends into other tagging systems like Backpack).

The other thing is one of the lessons of David Allen’s Getting Things Done, you won’t use your organization system if it’s not easy to use enough. So unlimited draganddrop support is must for me.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Backpack as a complete organizing tool”

  1. Josilyn Says:

    This web site truly has all the information and facts I wanted concerning this subject
    and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

